Why does everyone use store bought pectin in their Jellies, Jams and Preserves? I have searched the internet and really haven’t found any other answer besides it’s just easier. So laziness and time saving has us all adding unnatural substances into our foods that we proudly hand out as x-mas gifts? Well not me.

I like to be different as a rule. And I had never made any kind of jam or jelly before in my life. So of course I did a whole bunch of research to find out just how to get er done. In every recipe I found I kept seeing you have to add store bought pectin. And I still wasn’t understanding what it did. Here is what I found out.

Pectin is a natural ingredient using for thickening found in your fruits. The biggest dilema is that the more ripe the fruit the less natural pectin is inside the fruit. So to get the sweetest fruit the natural pectin is almost gone. OK no worries. I got this figured out.

The best and freshest way to do this is pick your fruit some ripe some not so ripe so you get the best of both worlds. You will have the flavor you want without add anything extra into your finished product. And of course it takes some time and patiences. We got this.

I will be posting my exact recipe for Sand Cherry Preserves in another post but it all is pretty basic. You add water and sugar to your fruit and cook cook and cook. Yes, it takes time. Several hours actually. So is it worth it? Maybe and maybe not. For me though, I couldn’t be prouder to be able to say “I made this, all natural of course”

I know that seems to be the “in” thing theses days but no that was not my goal to be with the in crowd, it was just a bonus. My goal was to make something that was different from everyone else. And I did. Of course I had some help from my Christopher.

